Happy CANADA DAY Weekend :CANADA DAY BBQ DECORATIONS by Suzanne Cannon Design ID #83487

To all of you who celebrate Canada Day, no matter were you live, I hope you had a wonderful day and a great long weekend.

We celebrated with family on July 1st , and had a backyard BBQ… the rain cleared up in time for yummy burgers, sausages  all the fixings and lots of other food prepared by the family.

I decorated with Canada day items from The Silhouette Store. Very easy to make, took 5 minutes to cut the file and 1 minute to stick everything. Of course I made all the items in the file 15 times so it took longer to do all of that.

Screenshot 2017-07-02 21.54.42.png

CANADA DAY BBQ DECORATIONS by Suzanne Cannon Design ID #83487

Fireworks were awesome at home, and the surrounding neighbourhood had continuous Fireworks for over an hour. We avoided the big events because we did have the newborn baby visit: Remember my post for the baby shower? Well he was born June 27th! So Cute.

Here is my finished project (not all the items were finished for the photo):

canada day deco.jpeg

Project Summary:

Project got an overall score of   46 out of 48. The total time was about 5 to 10 minutes

Most importantly, the question is,  would I make this again? Y

Is this project versatile? Te Maple leave can be used with heat transfer on to a T shirt, The bottle hangers with other decoration…so many ideas so little time to write.

Materials used: 2  different colour cardstock, Glue, Silhouette CAMEO®

The pieces were few and easy to layout on the mat.

So easy I did not even look for a tutorial. I followed the photo and it turned out great.

  1. Following the photo, I glued the cut out of the maple leaf to the red bottle hanger and a cut out maple to the cutlery holder.
  2. I the glued the cutlery holder tabs. I found that glueing the tabs to the outside worked best.

This  project can be done by younger kids on their own.

This file was $0.99 from The Silhouette Design Store.  Other PROJECT TYPE range from  $0.99to  $1.99  so this project was in the lower price rage. 

REVIEW

Step by step Review: based on the 8 points that seem to capture what a crafter would want to know.

  1.  Price of downloading the file
  • Free to $.99
  • $.99 to $2.99
  • $2.99 to $4.99
  • $4.99 to $6. 99
  • $6.99 to $8.99
  • $8.99  0r more

This file was $0.99   a score of 6 out of 6 either way  

  1. Open file
  • Layout when opened was super simple and I knew what to do
  • Looked at layout and was confused so visited blog, video, website
  • Looked at file, had no idea what I was seeing, no information to be found to help!

 Layout when opened was super simple and I knew what to do. This got a 6 out of 6 for open file category.

  1. Cutting the file
  • Had no difficulties cutting this file
  • Had some difficulties cutting this file
  • Had tons of headache cutting this file

Had no difficulties cutting this file “cutting the file” but no matter how many times I changed the settings, the maple leaf would not cut clean. I finally chose a setting of blade 3 and speed 3 . I am not 100% sure it is the file but I am still deducting a make. Also the fold lines little dotted lines that were a little difficult to fold. This step  gets a 5 out of 6

  1. Easy to construct?
  • so easy a young kid can do this
  • medium difficulty if you and not too crafty you can still achieve a good result
  • Hard: you need to really know what you are doing and have been crafting most of your life.

So easy a young kid can do this: I don’t think a tutorial is needed but because I am starting to get tough and have deducted marks in other projects…. I give this a easy  rating of 5 out of 6. 

  1. Needed extra items
  • I had to add extra items to finish this project for example string, grommets, rhinestones  etc.
  • I could add if I wanted to.
  • did not have to add anything other than the paper

Did not have to add anything other than the paper a  6 out of 6

  1. Finished product
  • looked exactly like the photo online
  • sort of looked the same
  • No Way did this turn out the same.

Looked exactly like the photo online. This gets a 6 out of 

  1. Recommend the file/ designer
  • I would recommend this file and designer to anyone
  • I would not recommend the file or designer to anyone
  • I would recommend the file
  • I would recommend the designer

I will recommend this file and designer to anyone and give it  a 6 out of 6.

  1. The overall cost for the project was
  • Under $5.00
  • Under $10
  • Over $10

I give “the overall cost for the project” a  6 out of 6  since it was under $5.00 to complete this project once :

  • 1 sheet of 8.5 in x 11 in red  Cardstock paper
  • 1  sheet 8.5 in. x 11 in. white cardstock
  • Glue
  • My Silhouette CAMEO® machine.

My over all score for this project is  46 out of 48.

Carolyn

On behalf of Not So Clever People

 

Leave a Reply

