Pirate Ship Ride at an amusement park? PIRATE SHIP GIFT BOX by Sweet Afton Design ID #82704

For the Baby Shower that is coming up really soon, I wanted a pirate ship ride and a few treat boxes. This little box looked so cute that I decided that out of all the options available I would get this one by Sweet Afton Design Id #82704. At $0.99 is was worth it so here are my thoughts on this project.

  1. When I opened the file there were 2 ships, a small on with the mast attached and a large one with a cut line so that the mast and sails are not attached.  I enlarged the smaller of the two but it was  still  very small.
  2. When  the black mast was glued on, it was top heavy. Could it be the paper?
  3. No Tutorial BUT good new is that this is so simple a kid can do this project and the photo of the finished version belongs to my 10 year old nephew. Notice he strengthened the mast with wooden skewers.

 

Pirate Ship Box
Finished project done my 10year old nephew
PIRATE SHIP GIFT BOX by Sweet Afton Design ID #82704
Pirate Ship Gift box from The Silhouette Design Store.

 

This is how the file opens:

Screenshot 2017-05-23 10.51.25.png

Project Summary:

PIRATE SHIP GIFT BOX by Sweet Afton Design ID #82704

Project got an overall score of   46 out of 48. The total time was about 15 minutes.

Most importantly, the question is, would I make this again? Yes , I will try with a stronger base paper and lighter cardstock black to see if it makes a difference.

Is this project versatile? Yes. I am using one side of the pirate ship to make a ride for the circus/carnival  party.

Materials used

5 different colour cardstock: cardstock, glitter paper,  Glue.Silhouette CAMEO® The pieces were few and easy to layout on the mat. I knew right away what each piece was for.

Time

To cut all the pieces , and to fold the score lines took about 5 minutes,  another 5 minutes to glue. Give yourself an 10 to 15 minutes  to complete  for the first time.

There were no tutorial links on The Silhouette Design Store or on the designers website  for this pirate ship. I followed the photo and it turned out great except for the fact that my sails would not stay up. Here are the steps:

  1. Following the photo, I first creased all fold lines, then glued the sides of the ship to form the box.
  2. Next I glued the waves to the bottom of the ship
  3. The black sails were then glued on and the skull and cross bones
  4. Last was the red flag.
  5. finished!

This  project can be done by younger kids by themselves.

This file was $0.99 from The Silhouette Design Store.  Other PROJECT TYPE range from  $0.99to  $1.49 so this project was a reasonable price

When I looked for SVG files to buy on the web, I Googled “Pirate Ship Box SVG and found

On ETSY  2.40  pounds sterling

Free Crayola

 RESOURCES

Not SO Clever People on Pinterest  where I have a Pirate Party items pinned

 REVIEW

Step by step Review: based on the 8 points that seem to capture what a crafter would want to know.

  1.  Price of downloading the file
  • Free to $.99
  • $.99 to $2.99
  • $2.99 to $4.99
  • $4.99 to $6. 99
  • $6.99 to $8.99
  • $8.99  0r more

This file was $0.99   a score of 6 out of 6  

  1. Open file
  • Layout when opened was super simple and I knew what to do
  • Looked at layout and was confused so visited blog, video, website
  • Looked at file, had no idea what I was seeing, no information to be found to help!

 Layout when opened was super simple and I knew what to do. As always I coloured in the pieces to keep me organized. BUT because there were 2 files no labels as to how to use them and although it did not take a rocket scientist to figure it out, it was not straight forward. This got a 5 out of 6 for open file category.

  1. Cutting the file
  • Had no difficulties cutting this file
  • Had some difficulties cutting this file
  • Had tons of headache cutting this file

Had no difficulties cutting this file “cutting the file” step  gets a 6 out of 6

  1. Easy to construct?
  • so easy a young kid can do this
  • medium difficulty if you and not too crafty you can still achieve a good result
  • Hard: you need to really know what you are doing and have been crafting most of your life.

So easy a young kid can do this: No instruction except for the photo as a guide. BUT no tutorial so lost points …  I give this a easy  rating of 5 out of 6. 

  1. Needed extra items
  • I had to add extra items to finish this project for example string, grommets, rhinestones  etc.
  • I could add if I wanted to.
  • did not have to add anything other than the paper

did not have to add anything other than the paper gets  a  6 out of 6

  1. Finished product
  • looked exactly like the photo online
  • sort of looked the same
  • No Way did this turn out the same.

Looked exactly like the photo online (except for the sagging issue) . This gets a 6 out of 6

  1. Recommend the file/ designer
  • I would recommend this file and designer to anyone
  • I would not recommend the file or designer to anyone
  • I would recommend the file
  • I would recommend the designer

I will recommend this file and designer to anyone and give it  a 6 out of 6.

  1. The overall cost for the project was
  • Under $5.00
  • Under $10
  • Over $10

I give “the overall cost for the project” a  6 out of 6  since it was under $5.00 to complete this project:

  • 1 sheet of 8.5 in x 11 in kraft paper or brown Cardstock paper
  • half  sheet 8.5 in. x 11 in. black cardstock
  • scrap piece red 2in. x 2 in.
  • scrap piece white 2in. x 2 in.
  • scrap piece blue glitter 3in. x 4 in.
  • Glue
  • My Silhouette CAMEO® machine.

My over all score for this project is  46 out of 48.

Carolyn

On behalf of Not So Clever People

 

Leave a Reply

