Making Gift card holders: Bikes and boxes

SIDECAR BOX by Daniela Moscone Design ID #149468

CARILLON BOX by Daniela MosconeDesign ID #132422

March 21st is the official first day of spring and it’s also our New Year.  For the New Year we gifts and celebrate similar to Christmas time. So that brings me to my post on gift cards and boxes.

All the kids in the family want gift cards or money and we kinda gave in, and that is what we are going to give them this year. I love shopping for gifts and really hate gift cards but hey…. the purpose is that the receiver of the gift enjoys it, right?

I have 7 kids to give gifts to in the family: my daughter and her 6 cousins here in Canada. We decided (my husband and I) to make each of them  a huge container of popcorn, fill it with other goodies aka candy they love and then add the money or gift card. This got me down the crafting path and I browsed my files I have purchased but not yet made to see which would be suitable to use as gift card or money holders. The two I chose are super adorable, the 3 youngest will get these. Since these are by the same designer I will evaluate them together as bike and box.

Project Summary:

Bike and box project got an overall score of   34 out of 48.  I think this is the lowest score for all the projects I have evaluated, but don’t get me wrong, I love these designs…. this was mainly  because there were no instructions and trying to use the photo for the box did not result in a final product that I was happy with. The total time was about 30 minutes for the bike and 40 for the box.

Most importantly the question is would I make these two again? Yes to the bikes and NO to the box  unless there is a tutorial available.

20170315_11160620170315_111628

Is this project versatile? YES. The bike can be used as a flat embellishment, so can the ballerina from the box project. The box in the box project can be decorated and used in any manner you choose.

Materials used

BIKE: 2 different colour cardstock. Black, and grey cardstock  Glue.Silhouette CAMEO®

BOX: 3  different colour cardstock. Pink and cream cardstock, Silver cardstock , printer to print and cut the ballerina, Glue, Ribbon , Silhouette CAMEO®

The pieces were few and easy to layout on the mat but the score lines opened as cut lines. This could be a glitch in the Silhouette software as I am using the Beta 4.0.516 version. I had to recut the sidecar a few times because of this.

There were no tutorial links on The Silhouette Design Store or on the designers website .

TIP: As always I filled in the pieces with the colour I will cut from as it keeps me organized.

To cut all the pieces for 2 bikes and 1 box took about 20 minutes, to fold the score lines another 5 minutes ,to assemble the project once the pieces were cut took 15 minutes each bike and 20 minutes for the box. Give yourself an 1 hr. to 1.5 hr.  to complete these 2 projects for the first time. NO tutorial instructions I followed the photo and the bikes turned out great but I ended up with a spacer that was to go between the bike and the sidecar.

The box on the other hand , I fiddled with it, had to rip the glued paper apart and the inside of the lid still did not end up like the photo….. I may have to redo before March 21 st.!

Once you have the files organized and cut, the Bike project can be done by younger kids with guidance.

This BIKE file was $1.49 from the The Silhouette Design Store .  and the Box file was $1.99 on the Silhouette Design Store  Other bikes and boxs range from  $.99 to  $1.99 so in range with this project.  When I looked for SVG files to buy on the web, I could not find any that compared to the music box. I found cute bikes ones for Free!  and a kit for  $5.99

Other places for boxes or transport SVG files 

BUY

Golf Cart

Wagon (like the Gypsies)

RESOURCES

Not SO Clever People on Pinterest  where I have boxes that can be turned into anything you imagine

REVIEW

Step by step Review : based on the 8 points that seem to capture what a crafter would want to know.

1.  Price of downloading the file

  • Free to $.99
  • $.99 to $2.99
  • $2.99 to $4.99
  • $4.99 to $6. 99
  • $6.99 to $8.99
  • $8.99  0r more

This file was $1.49 bike and 1.99 Box so  a score of 5  

2. Open file

  • Layout when opened was super simple and I knew what to do
  • Looked at layout and was confused so visited blog, video, website
  • Looked at file, had no idea what I was seeing, no information to be found to help!

The layout simple with but not sue why the score lines did not open correctly This got a 5 out of 6 for open file category.

3. Cutting the file

  • Had no difficulties cutting this file
  • Had some difficulties cutting this file
  • Had tons of headache cutting this file

easy to cut. The  “cutting the file” step  gets a 6 out of 6

4. Easy to construct?

  • so easy a young kid can do this
  • medium difficulty if you and not too crafty you can still achieve a good result
  • Hard: you need to really know what you are doing and have been crafting most of your life.

No instruction except for the photo as a guide. The box seam easy enough but I could not get the inside lid to assemble like the photo. the bike was easy but I got an extra piece that I noticed once everything was all glued.  I give this a hard difficulty rating of 2 out of 6. 

5. Needed extra items

  • I had to add extra items to finish this project for example string, grommets, rhinestones  etc.
  • I could add if I wanted to.
  • did not have to add anything other than the paper

I added bit of ribbon like the photo of the box but also had to coverup my glue error with additional stuff. .  I just cut the paper and glued so “I had to add extra items to finish this project for example string, grommets, rhinestones  etc.”  a  4 out of 6

6. Finished product

  • looked exactly like the photo online
  • sort of looked the same
  • No Way did this turn out the same.

It looked like  the photo from the silhouette design store….from far but on closer inspection there were mistakes in my construction due to lask of instructions or just that I am not a very clever person! . This gets a 4 out of 6

 

7. Recommend the file/ designer

  • I would recommend this file and designer to anyone
  • I would not recommend the file or designer to anyone
  • I would recommend the file
  • I would recommend the designer

I I love the items that Daniela Moscone designs and will continue to buy them and try to construct because they are so cute. But will not recommend to just any crafter so a 2 out of 6  for just the designer (not the file).

8. The overall cost for the project was

  • Under $5.00
  • Under $10
  • Over $10

I give “the overall cost for the project” a  6 out of 6  since it was under $5.00 to complete this project:

Each bike

  • 1 sheets of 8.5in x 11 in   dark grey  Cardstock paper
  • 1 sheet of  8.5in x 11 in   black  Cardstock paper

Box

  • 1 sheet of 8.5 in x 11 in   pink  Cardstock paper
  • 2  sheet 8.5 in. x 11 in. cream cardstock
  • 1 inch  Square gold cardstock
  • Glue
  • My Silhouette CAMEO® machine.

My over all score for this project is  34 out of 48.

Carolyn

On behalf of Not So Clever People

Leave a Reply

