Shadow Box:Wishing for Spring V2

3D SHADOW BOX – WISHING FOR SPRING V.2 by Marji RoyDesign ID #118217

March is upon us and that means Spring , Easter bunnies , weddings, and everything that comes to mind when we look forward to the end of Winter. As you all know, I have a REALLY difficult time choosing files to critique from The Silhouette Design Store so  I welcome any suggestions! Back to what I chose to evaluate: Wishing for Spring V. 2 from Marji Roy Design ID # 118217. 

I chose because I am wishing for spring and I like shadow boxes and made my own a few posts back for Christmas.

Project Summary:

This project got an overall score of   44 out of 48. The total time was about 1 hour.

Most importantly the question is would I make this again? YES! I would make this for all my friend who love cats as it is super cute and the little red bird is a perfect addition. Based on how the file was set up , I would buy from this designer again as she is super organized!

Is this project versatile? Well if you wanted to cut out the pieces and NOT make it into a shadow box you get a cute bird a cat, a window frame, and a scene with the winter tree that can be used on a card, scrapbook layout. the back and front that from the box can be used as a box, put some clear plastic backing and insert cookies etc.

My blade was a bit dull and the tree on piece #3 and the little red bird were very delicate  and the paper while cutting nearly tore, plus when I was ready to take it off the mat the leg of the bird was in grave danger of being lost; so be extra careful if you are a silhouette user.

You needed black, white and grey cardstock and a teeny tiny  piece of red so 4 different colour cardstock. The laying out was not fussy and I loved that the files when opened had little labels to say what colour to cut it out of and the information on where to get help on putting it together. I did not have to go back to the Silhouette Design store to look it all up. But the tutorial is here.

Each of the frame pieces were numbered so that was amazing!

I did not have black cardstock on hand so used dark grey.

TIP: As always I filled in the pieces with the colour I will cut from as it keeps me organized.

screenshot-2017-02-27-18-18-01

TIP: You can remove the labels before you cut out the shapes but there is no need as they are already set to no cut.

To cut all the pieces took about 20 minutes, to fold the score lines another 10 minutes ,to assemble the project once the pieces were cut took 20 minutes so give yourself an 1 hr. to 1.5 hr.  to complete this project for the first time. I did not follow the tutorial instructions to  keep everything spaced but if you do, it will turn out better than mine.  As it was, my project looked just great.There is still the shadow card look and I just inserted one box into another and glued. I think my project looks identical to the original even using dark grey for the frame.. The ledge and the bit to hang this project from a wall were brilliant additions to the file and something I will consider for my own creations.

 

TIP: the tree and the bird are very delicate so be extra careful not to tear the paper.

Once you have the files organized and cut, this project can be done by younger kids with guidance.

This file was $1.45 from the The Silhouette Design Store . Shadow boxes on the Silhouette Design store are $1.99 so pretty good to find one for less.  When I looked for SVG files to buy on the web, I found cute ones for $3.45  and $1.50  and some for more than $10

Other places for Shadow boxes or tunnel cards SVG files 

FREE

SplitCostStampers Template

House of stir fry Template

Christmas Card by not So Clever People

BUY

Instant Card making Download

RESOURCES

Not SO Clever People on Pinterest  where I have pinned some Tunnel Book, shadow box related files.

Google

YouTube Video

REVIEW

Step by step Review : based on the 8 points that seem to capture what a crafter would want to know.

1.  Price of downloading the file

  • Free to $.99
  • $.99 to $2.99
  • $2.99 to $4.99
  • $4.99 to $6. 99
  • $6.99 to $8.99
  • $8.99  0r more

This file was $1.45 so  a grade  of 5  (from 1 to 6) 

2. Open file

  • Layout when opened was super simple and I knew what to do
  • Looked at layout and was confused so visited blog, video, website
  • Looked at file, had no idea what I was seeing, no information to be found to help!

The layout super simple with labels and link to instruction right in the file. Got to LOVE that.This got a 6 out of 6 for open file category.

3. Cutting the file

  • Had no difficulties cutting this file
  • Had some difficulties cutting this file
  • Had tons of headache cutting this file

Had to change for 4 different colours but these were colours I had on hand and the cut size was  big pieces so super easy and  “cutting the file” step  gets a 6 out of 6

4. Easy to construct?

  • so easy a young kid can do this
  • medium difficulty if you and not too crafty you can still achieve a good result
  • Hard: you need to really know what you are doing and have been crafting most of your life.

At this point I tend to be very careful  rating  how difficult the construction is. This is not a project you can just glue flat, you have to construct a 3D object. The instructions did not have photos unique to this project but combined photos from other projects so again, if you are doing this for the first time, read carefully and look at the original photo if in doubt.  I give this a medium difficulty rating of 4 out of 6. 

5. Needed extra items

  • I had to add extra items to finish this project for example string, grommets, rhinestones  etc.
  • I could add if I wanted to.
  • did not have to add anything other than the paper

I could have added the dimensional glue dots if I wanted but did not.  I just cut the paper and glued so “needed extra items”  a  5 out of 6

6. Finished product

  • looked exactly like the photo online
  • sort of looked the same
  • No Way did this turn out the same.

It looked like  the photo from the silhouette design store. I really liked the little extra tab to hand the box and the window sil for the cat to sit on. This gets a 6 out of 6

 

7. Recommend the file/ designer

  • I would recommend this file and designer to anyone
  • I would not recommend the file or designer to anyone
  • I would recommend the file
  • I would recommend the designer

I like that this designer laid out all the files with tags and numbers. The blog post for the tutorial can be revamped but not an issue for me.

I give this “Recommend the file/designer” step  a  6 out of 6.

8. The overall cost for the project was

  • Under $5.00
  • Under $10
  • Over $10

I give “the overall cost for the project” a  6 out of 6  

It was under $5.00 to complete this project:

  • 3 sheets of 8.5in x 11 in   dark grey  Cardstock paper
  • 1 sheet of  8.5in x 11 in   light grey  Cardstock paper
  • 1 sheet of 8.5 in x 11 in   blue-green  Cardstock paper
  • 2  sheet 8.5 in. x 11 in. white cardstock
  • 1 inch square red cardstock
  • Glue
  • My Silhouette CAMEO® machine.

My over all score for this project is  44 out of 48.

Carolyn

On behalf of Not So Clever People

Free cameo3 cutting file “Blessed”

Leave a Reply

