Give a mouse a cookie, or in this case Ice cream! Samantha Walker Design ID #50506

I am petrified of mice but not this  cute critter by Samantha Walker. Once again I am evaluating a file from The Silhouette Design Store and it is a 3D box for candies in the shape of an ice cream cart driven by a mouse on a bicycle. BOX ICE CREAM MOUSE by Samantha Walker Design ID #50506

Project Summary:

Made BOX ICE CREAM MOUSE by Samantha Walker Design ID #50506

This project got an overall score of  45 out of 48. The total time to cut was about 15 minutes as there were many colors to lay out on the cutting mat. I did try to lay out my paper like Samantha Walker did on her blog but had to re-cut the wheel fenders a few times: this was because my mat was not very sticky and the paper moved around.

To assemble the project took about 30 minutes. In all give yourself an hour to complete this project the first time.

I really like how the file was laid out , the main cart section needed to be cut out of 12 in. x 12 in. cardstock but the other pieces used up my scrap paper I have been keeping!  Although there were many pieces, you could tell what they were for. The instructions were also easy to follow with lots of photos to guide you.

Once you have the files organized and cut, this project can be done by younger kids with some instruction, as it is all glue together, so great for the entire family. If I had to change anything it would be to make the mouse one double piece. I glued the head together to give it a more realistic look.

The cost was average and was not a great steal or very expensive when compared to files in the Silhouette Design store but when compared to files to buy on the web, it was very affordable. There were not many free options out there either. I love the colors of the finished project and would make this over and over again.

TIPS:

  • Use 12 in. x 12 in. Cardstock for the base.
  • Lots of small pieces so be careful not to misplace.
  • Fill in the digital shapes with the color you are using ,and if you know what paper you will use for the extra decorative piece, take a photo and load it into your pattern library in Silhouette Studio® Designer edition software.

Other places for 3d cart

FREE

 Samantha Eynon

papercrave

BUY

Shutterstock

Etsy

paper glitter

Birthday package by SVG cuts

Not SO Clever People on Pinterest  where I have pinned some box related files.

REVIEW

Step by step Review : based on the 8 points that seem to capture what a crafter would want to know.

1.  Price of downloading the file

  • Free to $.99
  • $.99 to $2.99
  • $2.99 to $4.99
  • $4.99 to $6. 99
  • $6.99 to $8.99
  • $8.99  0r more

This file is $1.99 to download which is the price for other similar 3D ice cream boxes on  The Silhouette Design store  out on the web I found for $5 and $8

So I would give the “price of downloading the file ” a grade  of 6 (from 1 to 6) 

2. Open file

  • Layout when opened was super simple and I knew what to do
  • Looked at layout and was confused so visited blog, video, website
  • Looked at file, had no idea what I was seeing, no information to be found to help!

There are lots of pieces. Looking at the Photo of the completed project always helps and adding the color to each piece helps me. The step by step walkthrough is great and you will find it here.

I would give the “open file” step a grade of 5 out of 6

 

screenshot-2017-02-12-22-18-51

3. Cutting the file

  • Had no difficulties cutting this file
  • Had some difficulties cutting this file
  • Had tons of headache cutting this file

I  “ungrouped”  the file for cutting,  and cut the main white box first. this cut like a dream, Next I followed the directions for laying out the various colors , I went through all my scrap pieces to find as close to matching color as possible. I did have to redo the wheels as I lost a rim and the bike fender since the paper came unstuck and ripped.

TIP:  I find it really helps  to color the files the same as the paper I am using .  

Use 1 sheets of 12 in. x 12 in. paper and scraps  from 7 different colors.

I would give “cutting the file” step  a 5 out of 6

4. Easy to construct?

  • so easy a young kid can do this
  • medium difficulty if you and not too crafty you can still achieve a good result
  • Hard: you need to really know what you are doing and have been crafting most of your life.

This is  a medium difficulty as it is time consuming to put this project together but very straight forward.

I would rate the “easy to construct” step  as a 5 out of 6.

5. Needed extra items

  • I had to add extra items to finish this project for example string, grommets, rhinestones  etc.
  • I could add if I wanted to.
  • did not have to add anything other than the paper

Did not have to use anything extra. Only candies.

I rate this step “needed extra items”  a  6 out of 6

6. Finished product

  • looked exactly like the photo online
  • sort of looked the same
  • No Way did this turn out the same.

Sooooo very cute, I love it and it looks exactly like the photo,

I give “Finished product” a 6 out of 6

Mine

Samantha Walkers

screenshot-2017-02-13-16-06-55

7. Recommend the file/ designer

  • I would recommend this file and designer to anyone
  • I would not recommend the file or designer to anyone
  • I would recommend the file
  • I would recommend the designer

I would recommend this file and designer , I love boxes and this little mouse has colors that make me happy to look at.

I give this “Recommend the file/designer” step  a  6 out of 6.

8. The overall cost for the project was

  • Under $5.00
  • Under $10
  • Over $10

I give “the overall cost for the project” a  6 a out of 6  

It was under $5.00 to complete this project:

  • 1 sheet of 12in x 12 in   white  Cardstock paper
  • scrap cardstock
  • Glue
  • $1.99 to download from The Silhouette Design Store
  • My Silhouette CAMEO® machine.

My over all score for this project is  out 45 of 48.

Carolyn

On behalf of Not So Clever People

Leave a Reply

