For All the Tea Lovers

Producing the cut file for Paperpuffs teabag holder a few days ago got me on a roll with tea related items so its no surprise that the next project from my library is a tea dispenser. I have friends over for tea and coffee a lot, and as I write this a friend from the Ukraine is dropping by to have tea and deliver some special candies from the Ukraine.

I wish I had this little teabag dispenser made and ready to go but I tend to make my projects as I write about them so it all stays as fresh in my mind as possible.

Different this post: I will  complete my evaluation and come back and write the highlights after this paragraph so that those of you who just need to know if it is worth your effort to make this file can skim and move on!

Project Summary:

Made TEA BAG DISPENSER by Snapdragon Snippets Design ID #26689

This project got an overall score of 44 out of 48. The total time to cut and assemble is under 30 minutes. It is not complicated but I needed to take my time and read the instructions well. Even so, I did mess up with the lid as I was trying to make the tabs close the top of the lid off , when in fact they were to be glued to the inside to strengthen the lid. Once you have the files organized and cut, this project can be done by younger kids with some instruction, as it is all glue together, so a great family craft project for Valentine’s or Mother’s day etc.

TIPS:

  • Use heavy Cardstock for the base and lid.
  • Glue your decorative pieces on the main box and lid before they are finished so that the lining up and spacing can be a bit more accurate.
  • Fill in the digital shapes with the color you are using ,and if you know what paper you will use for the extra decorative piece, take a photo and load it into your pattern library in Silhouette Studio® Designer edition software.

Free resources to make your own

Downstairs Designs

RunningwScissorsStamper

Annettes creative journey

Not SO Clever People on Pinterest  where I have pinned some tea related files. If you want to collaborate with me on this or any  of my other boards message me and I will add you.

REVIEW

Step by step Review : based on the 8 points that seem to capture what a crafter would want to know.

1.  Price of downloading the file

  • Free to $.99
  • $.99 to $2.99
  • $2.99 to $4.99
  • $4.99 to $6. 99
  • $6.99 to $8.99
  • $8.99  0r more

This file is $.99 to download and there are some teabag dispensers on The Silhouette Design store that are $1.99 so I think this is great value.

So I would give the “price of downloading the file ” a grade  of 6 (from 1 to 6) 

2. Open file

  • Layout when opened was super simple and I knew what to do
  • Looked at layout and was confused so visited blog, video, website
  • Looked at file, had no idea what I was seeing, no information to be found to help!

Layout when opened could look a little complicated if you are a newbie to crafting. Looking at the Photo of the completed project always helps a little. Lucky for us, there is a step by step walkthrough of assembling the project.

I would give the “open file” step a grade of 5 out of 6

screenshot-2017-02-07-20-46-22

 

3. Cutting the file

  • Had no difficulties cutting this file
  • Had some difficulties cutting this file
  • Had tons of headache cutting this file

I  “ungrouped”  the file for cutting, but it needed to be “ungrouped” twice. There where two sets of grouped files, one on top which are extra and you can delete if you want and the main files on the bottom.

TIP:  I find it really helps  to colour the files the same as the paper I am using . I also laid it all out exactly like the file in Silhouette to help keep me organized. Also if you read the instructions on her blog page it tells you which pieces are optional and can be deleted.

Use 3 sheets of 8.5 in. x 11 in. paper

I would give “cutting the file” step  a 6 out of 6

4. Easy to construct?

  • so easy a young kid can do this
  • medium difficulty if you and not too crafty you can still achieve a good result
  • Hard: you need to really know what you are doing and have been crafting most of your life.

This is  a medium difficulty and even if you are not too crafty you can still achieve great results.It does take a time to put this together. Read carefully. On the very first step I did not glue the sides down to the inside of the shape but read it that I had to make the tabs into the “bottom”  part of the box. It got a bit messed up with glue as you can tell and I need to use a bit more to hold the tabs down.

I would rate the “easy to construct” step  as a 3 out of 6.

20170209_113103

5. Needed extra items

  • I had to add extra items to finish this project for example string, grommets, rhinestones  etc.
  • I could add if I wanted to.
  • did not have to add anything other than the paper

Did not have to use anything extra. Only added teabags.

I rate this step “needed extra items”  a  6 out of 6

6. Finished product

  • looked exactly like the photo online
  • sort of looked the same
  • No Way did this turn out the same.

I used red cardstock , ordinary stuff from Michaels as it is a Valentines day gift for another friend of mine. I did not like the plain red and also did not want to stick lots of hearts etc on the box so decided to cut out the extra pieces out of a contrasting paper. I would use a heaver cardstock for the base pieces next time since I find it looks a little flimsy in the photos. In reality it looks fine. The finished project  does not look like the original but that is my fault since I  think it needs heave cardstock for the main body and lid.

 

I give “Finished product” a 6 out of 6

7. Recommend the file/ designer

  • I would recommend this file and designer to anyone
  • I would not recommend the file or designer to anyone
  • I would recommend the file
  • I would recommend the designer

I would recommend this file and designer  to  someone who is good at following written instructions .

I give this “Recommend the file/designer” step  a  6 out of 6.

8. The overall cost for the project was

  • Under $5.00
  • Under $10
  • Over $10

I give “the overall cost for the project” a  6 a out of 6  

It was under $5.00 to complete this project:

  • 3 sheets of 8.5 in x 11 in (21.5 cm x 27.9 cm)  red  Cardstock paper I had at home and at  $5.00 a pack for 50 that is just 10 cents a sheet.
  • half a sheet of 12 in. x 12 in. glitter Cardstock from DCWV
    “Blossom Song” collection: not sure how much it cost as I had this for a long time.
  • Glue
  • $.99 to download from The Silhouette Design Store
  • My Silhouette CAMEO® machine.

My over all score for this project is 44 out of 48.

I love boxes and I do like this little box for dispensing teabags so will make another.

Carolyn

On behalf of Not So Clever People

3 thoughts on “For All the Tea Lovers

  1. PaperPuff says:

    Hi! Sorry I am late commenting – life is a bit hectic at the moment. This is a super project. Little dispensers, pockets and pouches really please me, and yours is beautifully done. Love it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

