HEART ENVELOPE by Silhouette Design ID #174799

Had so much fun with  Lori Whitlocks Valentines day card review, so just had to do a “quickie review”:  it is this Heart Envelope by Silhouette Design ID#174799 FREE from The Silhouette Design store this week so hurry over and get it!

TIP: for all of you out there that don’t have a Silhouette CAMEO®, you can still download the files from The Silhouette Design Store and send to your printer.

 

So here is the review based on the 8 points I blogged about last time.

1.  Price of downloading the file

  • Free to $.99
  • $.99 to $2.99
  • $2.99 to $4.99
  • $4.99 to $6. 99
  • $6.99 to $8.99
  • $8.99  0r more

This file is FREE to download. Can’t beat that! This is a timely item to download with all the Valentines Day cards I will be making .

So I would give the “price of downloading the file ” a grade  of 6 (from 1 to 6) 

2. Open file

  • Layout when opened was super simple and I knew what to do
  • Looked at layout and was confused so visited blog, video, website
  • Looked at file, had no idea what I was seeing, no information to be found to help!

I looked at the layout,  and thought “wow, can’t get any easier than this!” it was a super simple layout designed to be cut from one piece of paper (8.5 in. x 11 in.) with left over although you could resize to make bigger.

I would give the “open file” step a grade of 6 out of 6

screenshot-2017-01-27-15-07-15

 

3. Cutting the file

  • Had no difficulties cutting this file
  • Had some difficulties cutting this file
  • Had tons of headache cutting this file

Loaded up my mat with pink paper. I did not have pink vellum as that is what it  looks like in the photo but figured that solid paper would be just fine. Once I sent my file to cut, the process  took less than 30 sec. I did not have to change paper multiple times or use extra steps like print and cut.

I would give “cutting the file” step  a 6 out of 6

 

4. Easy to construct?

  • so easy a young kid can do this
  • medium difficulty if you and not too crafty you can still achieve a good result
  • Hard: you need to really know what you are doing and have been crafting most of your life.

This was so easy a young kid could do it: fold cut lines, apply glue.

I would rate the “easy to construct” step  as a 6 out of 6.

 

5. Needed extra items

  • I had to add extra items to finish this project for example string, grommets, rhinestones  etc.
  • I could add if I wanted to.
  • did not have to add anything other than the paper

Had to use only the paper and glue .

I rate this step “needed extra items”  a  6 out of 6

6. Finished product

  • looked exactly like the photo online
  • sort of looked the same
  • No Way did this turn out the same.

I think it looks great.The photo does not look exactly like the photo  on The Silhouette Design Store and this could be for a few reasons:

  • The photo maybe of a vellum envelope or
  • It is a mockup shoot of the envelope.

Some people may  want the envelope to look EXACTLY the same. The background behind the hearts are white for example.

I give “Finished product” a 5 out of 6

7. Recommend the file/ designer

  • I would recommend this file and designer to anyone
  • I would not recommend the file or designer to anyone
  • I would recommend the file
  • I would recommend the designer

I would recommend this file and designer  to anyone even if they are not  crafty or if they are a young child  with little or no coordination.The envelope is a really simple project that can be cut out to put Valentin notes for classmates. The Kids can make the envelopes themselves which is a bonus for busy mums and dads.

I give this “Recommend the file/designer” step  a  6 out of 6.

8. The overall cost for the project was

  • Under $5.00
  • Under $10
  • Over $10

I give “the overall cost for the project” a  6 a out of 6  

as  it was under $5.00 to complete this project: ie. FREE

  • 1 sheets of 8.5 in x 11 in (21.5 cm x 27.9 cm) Recollections® Flamingo Cardstock paper @  $5.00 a pack for 50 that is just 10 cents a sheet.
  • Glue
  • Free  to download from The Silhouette Design Store
  • My Silhouette CAMEO® machine.

My over all score for this project is 47 out of 48.

Had Fun doing this Project. It was quick, painless, I had all the items on hand, and did not have to go out to buy extra stuff. I hope you all get to make this project.

Carolyn

On behalf of Not So Clever People

2 thoughts on “HEART ENVELOPE by Silhouette Design ID #174799

Leave a Reply

