Review A2 X-CARD TYPEWRITER by Lori Whitlock Design ID #169825:

Browsing The Silhouette Design Store keeps me busy for hours and hours and today was no exception. I went looking for my first project to officially test, thinking I would start with one of the free file but instead saw this Valentines Day Card A2 X-Card TYPEWRITER by Lori Whitlock and thought “I HAVE to do this”

screenshot-2017-01-23-21-31-57

So here is the review based on the 7points I blogged about last time plus one more I added.

1.  Price of downloading the file

  • Free to $.99
  • $.99 to $2.99
  • $2.99 to $4.99
  • $4.99 to $6. 99
  • $6.99 to $8.99
  • $8.99  0r more

This file cost $1.99  to download which is more expensive than 3D popup cards, and boxes for Valentine’s Day which range from $.99 to $1.99, but is similar to other 3D cards such as bendy cards. There are no other designers on The Silhouette  Design Store with similar cards and this makes the card unique.

So I would give the “price of downloading the file ” a grade  of 5 (from 1 to 6) 

2. Open file

  • Layout when opened was super simple and I knew what to do
  • Looked at layout and was confused so visited blog, video, website
  • Looked at file, had no idea what I was seeing, no information to be found to help!

I looked at the layout, and was confused as to what do I do next?  When I looked at the Silhouette Design store there was a link to Lori Whitlock’s website. It took me a minute to find the tutorial on the A2 X-Card but when I did, it linked to a great video on how to put it together.

I would give the “open file” step a grade of 4 out of 6

 

screenshot-2017-01-23-21-53-37

3. Cutting the file

  • Had no difficulties cutting this file
  • Had some difficulties cutting this file
  • Had tons of headache cutting this file

When I opened the file it was all grouped together so I “ungrouped” it. This “ungrouped” all the “dotted” lines so you will need to group the dotted line with the card. If you look at the screenshot above of the opened file,  you will  notice that there are duplicate items.There are  2 different sizes of circles, and you need to cut 4 of each out of 2 different paper. I have labeled and filled  the image  to make it a little easier to see. Now that I am organized and sure that I have the layout correct, I am ready to start cutting. Everything cut out very well but the sentiment was much smaller when printed than in the photo of the card, I also just cut this by hand so it is a little different from the original.

I would give “cutting the file” step  a 4 out of 6

screenshot-2017-01-26-12-07-42

4. Easy to construct?

  • so easy a young kid can do this
  • medium difficulty if you and not too crafty you can still achieve a good result
  • Hard: you need to really know what you are doing and have been crafting most of your life.

I  paused here for a bit as I obsessed over the paper: I could not find paper that I already owned that would be close to duplicating the look of the card in the original photo. The typewriter is so cute and turned out perfect! I give this medium difficulty only because gluing the pattern paper on top of the plain paper card was a little tricky, and I got creases. Once dry, the card curled so I had to put under some heave books.

I would rate the “easy to construct” step  as a 4 out of 6.

 

 

5. Needed extra items

  • I had to add extra items to finish this project for example string, grommets, rhinestones  etc.
  • I could add if I wanted to.
  • did not have to add anything other than the paper

Had to add string and did not have any that matched  the blue/green paper.

I rate this step “needed extra items”  a  2 out of 6

6. Finished product

  • looked exactly like the photo online
  • sort of looked the same
  • No Way did this turn out the same.

I think it looks fantastic and although the paper is not the same, and my glueing is a bit crocked, it does looking like the photo. Right?

 

I give “Finished product” a 6 out of 6

7. Recommend the file/ designer

  • I would recommend this file and designer to anyone
  • I would not recommend the file or designer to anyone
  • I would recommend the file
  • I would recommend the designer

I would recommend this file and designer  to anyone who is a little crafty but not for someone who is younger with little coordination. Also, when you view the video, Lori is an expert and putting the card together looks so easy, but I did have minor issues, so take your time with the gluing, don’t rush, like I did, getting it all put together, and it will turn out just fine.

TIP :try to put a little bit of tape to hold the string taunt as I found that mine sagged

The card was fun to put together and once the pieces were sorted out as to which circle goes on top of which, glue was applied and everything dried, it was worth the effort.

I give this “Recommend the file/designer” step  a  6 out of 6.

8. The overall cost for the project was

  • Under $5.00
  • Under $10
  • Over $10

I give “the overall cost for the project” a  6 a out of 6  

as  it was under $5.00 to complete this project:

  • 2 sheets of 12 in. x 12 in. paper @  $.99 each, (1 Recollections Cardstock  and 643703 K-Ology Addison Blue Garden Swirls by K & Company)
  • Scrap white Cardstock,
  • ink for the small print and cut sentiment,
  • scrap string.
  • Glue
  • $1.99 to download from The Silhouette Design Store
  • My Silhouette CAMEO® machine.

My over all score for this project is 37 out of 48.

Had Fun doing this Project

Carolyn

On behalf of Not So Clever People

2 thoughts on “Review A2 X-CARD TYPEWRITER by Lori Whitlock Design ID #169825:

Leave a Reply

